Double Standards

As we can see here- sometimes in life, we have to deal with two-faced jerks.

Singaporeans are notorious for complaining. Strangely enough, that isn’t enough to stop them from doing so and some are even proud of it. Lately I have been thinking about this trait of ours when the realization hit me like a train.

Now try to stick with me on my long line of thought; if one complains about something, that would mean one condemns that action or inaction. And since one disagrees with that action or inaction, one should either A) be trying to correct the situation or B) not following that person’s behavior.

So if everyone does either option A or B, we would have nothing to complain about now would we?

Let us take for example the issue of people not giving up seats for the elderly on buses and trains. Instead of exercising option A of asking the sleeping person politely to vacant his or her seat for an elderly, most would just quietly shake their heads. A lot of help you are huh?

And when was the last time you helped an elderly cross the road or carried their shopping? How about even doing a good deed for a random stranger? Well, at least I know I am guilty of not practicing option B too.

So it is official folks; Singapore isn’t a nation of complainers or even brats who had been spoil rotten by its baby-sitting government. We are a nation of hypocrites and sloths.

I am honestly very tired of all this negativity, all this whining about every single aspect of life ranging from the cost of living to minute issues like how you don’t want any bloody flyers in your mailbox.

If life is so painful for you and your only recourse is to whine about it and not get off your lazy ass to do something about it, please jump off a building and spare the rest of us your misery.

Sometimes I read about other countries in times of trouble and I am in awe of their civic-mindedness, their willingness to rally together with their countrymen.

Then I think about what would happen in Singapore during times of crisis and I shudder. We have citizens who are well known for their aggressiveness on the roads in their normal day-to-day lives, do you think they would even cast you a second glance when their lives are at stake?

Sometimes I wish if only we could give up some of the wealth, the good governance, the security of our country in exchange for a more gracious society and not be trapped in our status quo of a me-first mentality.

Having written this article, I of course intend to change my behaviors for the better…so I shall promise two things from this day onward.

1) To stay off Singaporean online forums where you will only find hate and anger and only get yourself upset.

2) To greet the bus driver every time I board the bus in hopes that I would not only make someone’s day, but also make Singapore a friendlier, happier place to live in. It is not much I must admit, but at least I am trying.

 

Like what you just read? Like the Show And Tell series on Facebook for the backstories, sneak peeks and to talk to the author!

Leave a Reply

